Calculate the cost of the trip
Point of departure
Point of arrival
Date
Time
Point of departure
Point of arrival
Date
Time
How many people? (Including children)
arosa

Fig.1. Winterthur. Roof view

A Museum Resort in Northern Switzerland

Winterthur is the sixth largest city in Switzerland, which means it’s not that big and extremely quiet and cozy. It is located a little north of Zurich and represents a unique mixture of a financial and art center. Despite the presence of many well-known insurance and banking organizations, Winterthur is also famous for its museums and art galleries. The collection of Oscar Reinhart containing hundreds of rare paintings from renowned impressionist artists is just one of them.

Little Bit About the City

 There are a lot of museums in and around the city, and in order not to miss any of them, you can either order a taxi in Winterthur, and ask the driver to go round them all, or take a city museum bus that leaves from the station.

 

 Winterthur has a small, well-preserved old town, which has become a concentration of luxury shops and boutiques. The shopping windows display items from famous designers of Switzerland and the rest of the world, so if you like shopping, you will have a great time here.

How to Get There?

The most convenient way to get to the resort is via Zurich airport. When you arrive, you can either get a ticket at a nearby train station or order a transfer to Winterthur and go by car. Travel time in both cases will be about half an hour. It’s more complicated and more time-consuming getting here from Geneva and other cities, so pick Zurich if you can.

Main Attractions

One of the key attractions of the city is Oscar Reinhart’s collection of impressionist paintings. The influential banker was a patron of arts and upon death passed on his enormous collection to his native city.

arosa

Fig.2. The Winterthur Museum of Art

The Museum of Photography is certainly a place to stop by. The local exposition is entirely devoted to the history of photo art, photography technologies, as well as works by famous photographers.

 

 The next museum on the list is the Museum of Arts, which contains a huge number of works of 19-20 centuries. Keep in mind that the museum bus, which runs from the station, is a kind of attraction in itself. It runs on a tight schedule every day except Monday, when all the city museums are closed. On Monday, you can book a taxi service in Winterthur. But you will only be able to see the local sights from the outside, since they will be closed.

 

Place an order now!

Calculer le coût du voyage
Point de départ
Destination
Date
Heure
Point de départ
Destination
Date
Heure
Combien de personnes? (y compris les enfants)
arosa

Fig.1 Winterthur. Vue sur le toit

Winterthur est une station de cure de musée au nord de la Suisse

Winterthur est la sixième ville de la Suisse selon le nombre d’habitants. La ville n’est pas grande, mais très calme et confortable. La ville est située un peu vers le nord de Zurich. Elle représente une symbiose unique du secteur financier et de l’art. Beaucoup d’institutions bancaires et d'assurance connues dans le monde entier travaillent ici, mais Winterthur est aussi bien connu par ses remarquables musées et galeries de tableaux. Que vaut, par exemple, la collection d’Oskar Reinhart qui contient des centaines de tableaux rares des peintres-impressionnistes connus.

Quelques mots sur la ville

 Dans la province il y a assez beaucoup de musées, et pour ne pas perdre de vue pas un seul d’eux, vous pouvez ou commander le taxi à Winterthur et demander le chauffeur de faire le tour à tous, ou prendre le bus de musée municipal qui part de la gare.

 

 On a aussi gardé une petite vieille ville ici qui est devenue concentration des magasins et des boutiques. Des objets, des vêtements des meilleurs designers de la Suisse et du monde entier se pavanent dans les vitrines, donc c’est sûr que les amateurs du shopping trouvent de quoi s’occuper pendant la visite de Winterthur.

Comment y arriver?

La variante la plus commode d’arriver à la satation de cure est par l’aéroport de Zurich. À l’arrivée à l’aéroport vous pouvez acheter le billet de train à la gare la plus proche ou commander le transfert à Winterthur et aller en voiture. Dans deux cas le temps de route fait une demi-heure environ. Il est plus long et compliqué d’arriver ici de Genève et des autres villes, donc la ville d’arrivée préférée est justement Zurich.

Curiosités principales

La curiosité principale de la ville est la collection d’Oskar Reinhart des tableaux rares des impressionnistes mentionnée ci-dessus. Un banquier influent a collecté une immense collection de tableaux et après sa mort les a transmis à la disposition de la ville natale.

arosa

Fig.2. Le musée d'art de Winterthur

Le musée de photographie représente aussi un intérêt important. L’exposition locale est entièrement et sans réserve consacrée à l’histoire de l’art de photographie, aux techniques de prise de photos, аinsi qu’aux oeuvres des photographes mondiaux célèlebres.

 

 Le musée, suivant sur la liste, est le musée des arts qui contient une quantité immense d’oeuvres datées du 19-me et du 20-me siècles. Le bus de musée qui part de la gare, est aussi, à propos, une curiosité originale. Il passe régulièrment selon l’horaire chaque jour, sauf lundi quand tous les musées de la ville sont fermés. Lundi on peut commander les services de taxi à Winterthur. Il faut dire qu’on ne pourra voir les curiosités locales que de l’extérieur puisque on ne permetra pas d’entrer à l’intérieur.

 

Passez une commande maintenant!