Calculate the cost of the trip
Point of departure
Point of arrival
Date
Time
Point of departure
Point of arrival
Date
Time
How many people? (Including children)
chur

Fig.1. Picturesque views of the city

Chur. An Integral Part of the Swiss Scenic Route

Chur is one of the oldest cities in modern Switzerland and the oldest continuously populated city in the country. The old part of the city still retains the signs of an authentic medieval culture. And, in spite of the fact that Chur was burnt down and destroyed in the middle of the 15th century, it was soon restored. Most of the city's ancient buildings were erected in the 16th century, but several medieval towers and cathedrals dating back to 14-15th centuries have been preserved.

What Makes Chur Stand Out?

The city itself is of great tourist value for Switzerland, as it is visited by tens of thousands of tourists every year. Here you can admire the facades of ancient buildings, dine at one of the exquisite restaurants, or take a tour of one of the city’s numerous museums. The museums and exhibitions here can vary greatly - from wine-making to sewing machines.

 The city is rather small, but densely populated. The area of no more than 20 square miles has over 30,000 residents plus another 10,000 tourists. Due to this fact, the traffic here may sometimes become impeded, and that’s where a taxi service in Chur becomes indispensable. If you wish to explore the sights, it is definitely better to order a cab with a local driver, who’s familiar with all the back streets and alleys.

 

What to See?

Chur is a city rich in architectural monuments and other sights. It is a good idea to begin your journey from the Town Hall on Postrasse. The building, painted in yellow and having only two floors, is a prime example of the Renaissance architecture.

 

 And don’t pass up the church of St. Martin. This is one of the largest Protestant churches in the world, giving off a gloomy Gothic vibe. The locals consider it to be the main attraction of the city. The church is as beautiful from the outside as it is inside, primarily thanks to the three large stained glass windows created by Augusto Giacometti in 1919.

 

Place an order now!

Calculer le coût du voyage
Point de départ
Destination
Date
Heure
Point de départ
Destination
Date
Heure
Combien de personnes? (y compris les enfants)
chur

Fig.1 Vues pittoresques de la ville

Chur est une partie intégrante d’un circuit touristique en Suisse

Chur est une des villes les plus anciennes de la Suisse actuelle et la plus ancienne ville du pays régulièrement peuplée. La partie ancienne de la ville garde jusqu’à présent les signes d’une vraie culture médiévale. Et, malgré qu’au milieu du 15-me siècle Chur a été brûlé et détruit, on l’a très vite restitué. La plupart des constructions anciennes de la ville a été érigée en 16-me siècle, pourtant on a conservé quelques tours et cathédrales médiévales datées du 14-me et du 15-me siècles.

Par quoi la ville de Chur est intéressante?

La ville même représente une grande valeur touristique pour la Suisse puisque chaque année des dizaines de touristes et de connaisseurs du repos culturel la visitent. On peut admirer ici des anciennes façades des bâtiments, visiter un des restaurants truculents, visiter de nombreux musées. Toutefois la thématique des musées et des salles d’exposition peut être très différente, en commençant par la production du vin et finissant par les machines à coudre.

 Cette ville n’est pas grande mais à population dense. La surface de ville pas plus de 30 kilomètres carrés est peuplée par 30 mille personnes environ, et encore 10 mille personnes environ sont des touristes. C’est pourquoi les échangeurs routiers sont parfois surchargés, et sans service de taxi à Chur on ne se passe pas. Pour voir toutes les curiosités il sera mieux de commander la voiture avec un chauffeur sur place qui connaît toutes les ruelles et tous les chemins de détour.

 

Qu’est-ce qu’on peut y voir?

Chur est la ville riche en monuments d’architecture et en autres curiosités. Il est mieux de commencer votre voyage de l’Hôtel de ville situé dans la rue centrale Posrstrasse. Le bâtiment est peint en jaune et n’a que deux étages, c’est un modèle d’architecture de la Renaissance.

 

 On ne peut pas non plus passer à côté de l’église de Saint-Martin sans y faire attention. C’est une des églises protestantes les plus grandes dans le monde entier rendant d’un style gothique sombre. Les habitants du lieu la considèrent comme une curiosité principale de la ville. L’église est belle non seulement de l’extérieur mais aussi à l’intérieur. En premier lieu à cause de ses trois grands vitrages faits par Аugustо Giacometti en 1919.

 

Passez une commande maintenant!